« Cold play at Kokuritsu – and it was all yellow | Main | Bajalica has high hopes for Maya »

Sorry Pixie, but the ref was spot on

4 Jan 2010(Mon)

January 2, 2010: As much as I admire and respect Dragan Stojkovic, I cannot agree with his assessment of the “Tamada Incident” on New Year's Day.

Basically, Pixie thought Grampus should have been awarded a penalty in the 74th minute when Keiji Tamada went down in the Gamba box. It was 1-1 at the time, and the final scoreline of “Gamba 4 Grampus 1” could have been very different if a penalty had been given, the Grampus manager said in his post-match press conference.

Sorry Pixie, but I thought the ref, Kenji Ogiya, got it absolutely right in showing Tamada a yellow card for diving. After a patient build-up on the right flank, Tamada surged into the Gamba box. He was in the perfect position to let fly with his right foot, but instead of trying to score a goal he threw himself down in the hope of winning a penalty.

Had the ball been on Tamada's infinitely stronger left foot, then surely he would have shot, but it was on his other foot so he declined the opportunity. It was a clear yellow card for diving/simulation, and I applauded the referee for his strong response. After all, it was New Year's Day, not April Fool's Day.

Pixie, however, saw it differently. “It was a very clear penalty kick but he got a yellow card for simulation,” he told the media.

“I am not sure it was simulation. I have just spoken with Tamada in the dressing room and he said he was touched by the defender of Gamba. From what I saw on the bench, Gamba was very lucky.”

In situations like this, I'd like to see the manager ask his own player why he dived rather than tried to score a goal, and if necessary admonish him. This does not have to be in public, but in private behind closed doors once the emotion has died down a day or two after the game.

Pixie was right in saying that the final result could have been very different – but not if the referee had awarded a penalty; if Tamada had scored from this clear shooting opportunity.

Let's take nothing away from Gamba. It was a fantastic display to win the Emperor's Cup, and you wonder where the motivation and concentration comes from when they had already clinched their place in the Asian Champions League.

ends

Permalink | Comments (0)

Comments

The comments to this entry are closed.